Chairman, AEC – Ratan Kumar Sinha

Ratan Kumar Sinha is an Indian nuclear scientist and mechanical engineer. He had served as the Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Atomic Energy(DAE) and Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission(AEC), Government of India from April 2012 to October 2015. Prior to that, Ratan Kumar Sinha had served as Director of Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC), Mumbai from May 2010 to June 2012.[2]During his four decades of illustrious career, Ratan Kumar Sinha held several important positions related to design & development of nuclear reactors for the Indian nuclear programme. He has been actively involved in the development of Advanced Heavy Water Reactor (AHWR) and Compact High Temperature Reactor (CHTR), two of the highly acknowledged technological innovations which are suitable for large scale deployment of nuclear power, particularly in Indian scenario.

As Chairman, AEC and Secretary, DAE, Ratan Kumar Sinha had put special thrust on several key deliverables for sustainable development and deployment of nuclear energy. Major thrust areas, in continuation to his research at BARC, include advanced nuclear energy systems for thorium utilisation and accelerator technology. He had given high priority to application of radiation technology in the areas of healthcare management, agriculture, food preservation and water purification. He had also strengthened outreach activities of DAE for spreading awareness about the peaceful uses of atomic energy among the general public. He had been instrumental in kick starting several public outreach campaigns to present the human face of India’s nuclear capabilities. Under his leadership, DAE displayed its first ever tableau in the 66th Republic Day Parade 2015 and had launched its social media page on Facebook ( as a part of public outreach initiatives.

Ratan Kumar Sinha has coined the phrase राष्ट्र की सेवा में परमाणु (Atoms in Service of the Nation) which has been imbibed as the motto of the Department of Atomic Energy. Motto of DAE is a part of the new logo of DAE launched in January 2014.

Director BARC (19 May, 2010 – 19 June, 2012)
Chairman AEC & Secretary DAE (30 April 2012 – 23 October 2015)

Leave a Reply